Our program

Safeskies 2024 program 

(Coming Soon)


16 October, 2024



18:00 – 18:45
Australian Parliament House foyer pre-dinner drinks

18:45 – 20:00

Sir Reginald Ansett Memorial Lecture

Jeannie M Leavitt
Department of the Air Force Chief of Safety

20:00 – 22:00
Conference dinner


17 October, 2024



20 September, 2022

18:00 – 18:45
Australian Parliament House foyer
pre-dinner drinks

18:45 – 20:00

Sir Reginald Ansett Memorial Lecture

Andre Stein CEO Eve Air Mobility

20:00 – 22:00
Conference dinner


16 October, 2024

Registration desk open
Hyatt Hotel, Canberra

08:30 – 08:45
Welcome and conference introduction
Peter Raven AM, Linda Spurr

08:45 – 09:00
Conference opening
Mike Mrdak AO

09:00 | Session 1

Aviation Policy Group Discussion

Richard Wood First Assistant Secretary Dept Infrastructure, Pip Spence CEO CASA, Jason Harfield CEO Airservices Australia, AIRCDRE Joseph Medved Director General, Defence Aviation Safety Authority

(15 min each, + 30 min). Overview of aviation safety issues from each speaker followed by panel discussion/Q and A.

10:30 – 11:00
Morning Tea – Supported by L3Harris 

11:00 | Session 2

‘Safe integration of increasingly complex airspace.’ 

Peter Kearney CEO Irish Aviation Authority and chair of COOPANS. 

11:45 | Panel facilitated by Greenbird Consortium 

‘Leveraging aviation safety standards to build consumer confidence in emerging air mobility systems’.

Jia Le Koh – Skyports Asia Pacific
Tim Ryley – Professor of Aviation, Griffith University
Andrew Moore – Co-Founder and CEO, AMSL Aero

Moderator: Sara Hales, Managing Director, Greenbird 

12:30 – 12:40
AVM Mark Skidmore (ret) AM – Chairman Skykraft

12:40 – 13:30
Next-Gen lunch – (Students, aviation cadets and new entrants)
Supported by Dick Smith

13:30 | Session 3

‘Cyber-securing Australian airspace’

Grant Williams Technical Director, Airspace Mobility Solutions, Thales Group Australia


Regulation and new technology 

Dr Reece Clothier Boeing ‘Closing the gap – enabling safe aerospace innovation’
Dr Rob Weaver Eve Air Mobility ‘Building the urban air mobility ecosystem’
Zachary Kennedy Swoop AeroMaking access to the skies seamless’

Chair/moderator: Jackie Dujmovic 
Safeskies board member

15:00 – 15:30
Afternoon Tea

15:30 – 1700 | Session 4

Safety investigation – civil and military

Robert Sumwalt: former head of the US NTSB (virtual)
Angus Mitchell: Chief commissioner ATSB
Group Captain Dennis Tan: Director Defence Flight Safety Bureau
Jane Meares Chief commissioner New Zealand Transport Accidents Investigation Commission

Close of Day 1 – Margo Marchbank, Manager Safeskies Australia

17:00 – 18:00
Safeskies Networking Happy Hour


UPDATE / Respecting the National Day of Mourning for Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II declared for 22 September, we will be delivering day 2 of the program virtually at a date to be advised.

22 September, 2022

08:00 – 08:45
Venue open Hyatt Hotel – networking

08:45 – 09:00
Welcome and introduction to Day 2
CDRE Chris Smallhorn (ret) Safeskies Deputy Chair

09:00 | Session 5

Airline heads of safety

Mark Cameron Qantas Airways
Michael Chapman Jetstar
Amanda Drake Alliance Airlines
Anthony Gibara Rex Airlines
Chris McKie Virgin Australia

10:00 – 10:30

Recreational aviation safety panel

Cody Calder head of safety, Recreational Aviation Australia
Mark Edwards head of operations, Australian Parachute Federation

10:30 – 11:00
Morning Tea – Supported by Flight Safety Foundation

11:00 | Session 6

Dr. Rob Lee Memorial Session – System safety

Timothy Hudson Hudson Consulting: ‘Improving safety management approaches using underlying structures in the safety culture ladder’

Dr Kevin McMurtrie UNSW: ‘Just culture – an enabler of trust and confidence for voluntary reporting, or a utopian ideology?’

Dr Louise Raggett – ‘Marrying Safety I and Safety II approaches – A practical application of new methods in aviation ground operations’ 

Moderator: Sue Burdekin 

12:30 – 13:30
LunchBoeing Australia

13:30 | Session 7

ADF Aviation Safety Panel

‘Current and future safety challenges for Defence aviation.’

ACDRE Nathan Christie RAAF

Brigadier David Hafner, Deputy Commander Army Aviation

CDRE David Frost Commander Fleet Air Arm.

Moderator: AVM Alan Clements AM CSC


Training and human factors

Denis Manson ‘Human factors in the metaverse – virtual training spaces for non-technical skill development’

Allison McDonald ‘Human-centred design for emerging technologies’

Shane Tobin ‘Upset prevention and recovery training – stick and rudder problem or human factors problem?’

15:00 – 15:30
Coffee Break

15:30 | Session 8

PG Taylor Address

ACM Mark Binskin AC (ret) Chair of CASA board

16:15 – 16:50

‘The resilient pilot and continuing professional development’

Captain Naomi Radke AFAP 

16:50 – 17:00
Close day 2 & conference close – Captain Peter Raven AM/ Linda Spurr – Chair and Treasurer Safeskies